ProjectWise Explorer Help

ProjectWise Log In Dialog

Used to enter the credentials (user name and password) of a ProjectWise user account, in order to obtain access to the selected ProjectWise datasource.

The Log in dialog opens in ProjectWise Explorer and ProjectWise Administrator when you initiate log in on the selected datasource when you are not using single sign-on, or if you are bypassing single sign-on using the Log in as option. The Log in dialog also opens when automatic log in is not enabled for an integrated application and you launch that application from the desktop. The following describes the controls you might see on the Log in dialog.

SettingDescription
Datasource Used to select the ProjectWise datasource to log in to. Select the list to see the list of available datasources. If the datasource you want to log in to is not listed, you can still log in to it (if you have permission to access it) by typing both the server and datasource name in the Datasource field using the following format:

servername:datasourcename

Authentication Used to select what kind of user authentication to use when logging in to the selected datasource:
  • ProjectWise - The default, select this option if you need to enter a user name and password, of if you are logging in with a Windows-based account.
  • Bentley IMS - Select this option if you want to log in with your Bentley Cloud Services credentials. You will only see this option if the administrator has enabled Bentley IMS authentication in the datasource.
User Name In this field, enter the name assigned to you by your administrator for logging in to the selected datasource. This field is not case sensitive.
Password In this field, enter the password assigned to you by your administrator that corresponds to the user name for the selected datasource. This field is case sensitive.
Log in Clicking the Log in button logs you in to the selected datasource using the selected authentication method and related credentials.
CONNECTION client Signs you in to Bentley with your Bentley Cloud Services credentials, so you can work with ProjectWise cloud projects from ProjectWise Explorer. This is separate from the datasource log in, and should be done before you log in to a datasource. If using ProjectWise authentication, you can log in to a datasource without signing in to Bentley, however you cannot make use of ProjectWise cloud projects until you sign in. This button does not appear if you are already signed in through the CONNECTION Client.
Use Windows Single Sign-On for authentication When Authentication is set to ProjectWise, turning on this option disables the User Name and Password fields so that when you click Log in, ProjectWise will attempt to log you in to the selected datasource using the same Windows user name and password that you used to log in to the operating system. For Windows single sign-on to work, the following must all be true:
  • single sign-on must be enabled in the datasource
  • you must have a Windows account in the datasource
  • you must be logged into the operating system with that same Windows accoun

When the above conditions are met, you will typically only see this option (and the Log in dialog in general) when you select the datasource and then select Datasource > Log in as. Otherwise, selecting the datasource and then selecting Datasource > Log in bypasses the Log in dialog altogether and logs you in automatically using your Windows credentials.

When logging in from an integrated application that was launched from the desktop, you will only see this option if the selected datasource is enabled for single sign-on, and if the Remember me option is currently off.

Remember me (use auto-login next time) Turn this option on if you want to be automatically logged in to the same datasource using the same log in credentials the next time you launch this integrated application from the desktop. You will only see this option in the Log in dialog when you are launching an integrated application from the desktop, and only if your administrator has given you permission to configure automatic log in for integrated applications. The Remember me option remains disabled until you either enter a user name and password or turn on the option, Use Windows Single Sign-On for authentication .

If Use Windows Single Sign-On for authentication is off, then the first time you turn on this Remember me option from a particular computer, a dialog opens to inform you that the entered password will be saved locally (it will be encrypted and stored in the computer's registry). The dialog provides you with three options:

  • Yes Always — Click Yes Always if you want your password saved locally for this integrated application, and you also want it saved automatically (without prompting) whenever you turn on the Remember me option (and Use Windows Single Sign-On for authentication is off) in the future.
  • Yes — Click Yes if you want your password saved locally for this integrated application, but you still want to be prompted about saving passwords the next time you turn on the Remember me option (and Use Windows Single Sign-On for authentication is off) for this or another integrated application.
  • No — If you click No, you will be logged in but your password will not be saved, and you will not be automatically logged in the next time you launch this integrated application from the desktop.