If you check out or export the wrong document, or make changes to a document that you do not want to check in (if checked out) or import (if exported), you can free that document.
If you are the administrator, or if you have been given permission to free documents of other users, you can free documents that other users have checked out or exported. For example, as the administrator you may want to free another user's documents if a user's privileges are removed from a folder, but that user still has documents checked out or exported.
After you free a document, the document's current status icon (diskette, lock, check mark) is replaced with a read/write (pencil) icon.
When the user settingis off (the default), freeing a checked out document deletes the document from your working directory (thereby deleting all the changes you might have made since you checked out the document) and returns the document status from Checked Out to Checked In, and freeing an exported document deletes the document from wherever you exported it to and returns the document status from Exported to Checked In. When is on, freeing a document returns the document status from Checked Out or Exported to Checked In, but does not delete the local copy of the document.