MicroStation CONNECT Edition Help

Preferences Dialog, Operation Category

Consists of controls that are used to set preferences related to element selection and identification, the drawing pointer, and level identification.



SettingDescription
Open Multiple Application Windows If on, you can open multiple MicroStation application windows on systems with multiple display screens. The number of display screens can be selected from the drop-down list next to the setting. You can select up to four display screens. The default is off. You need to restart MicroStation session for this setting change to take effect.

If on, you can move the view windows between different screens, by selecting Change Screen from the view window's control menu.

Save Settings on Exit If on, automatically saves settings such as active color and view setup along with the changes to the DGN file. Default is off .
Automatically Save Design Changes If on, automatically saves changes to the DGN file. Default is on.
Compress File on Exit If off (the default), the active design file is not automatically compressed when closed. The compression operation permanently removes elements marked for deletion.
Synch Symbology to ByLevel If on, when you open a different model or view group, the active color, line style, and line weight are set to ByLevel.
Note: If the configuration variable MS_LEVEL_SYNCH_BYLEVEL is set, this setting is dimmed.
Highlight Broken Associations If on, automatically identifies elements that lose associativity by changing their weight and style. Default is on.
Display Active Level in All Views If on (the default), the active level displays across all views.
Viewing Tools Apply to Active View If on (the default), viewing tools use the active view. If off, viewing tools opened from locations other than the view border toolbox and do not require additional input will prompt for a view instead of using the active view.
Use Snap Mode from Preferences If on, the snap mode data is saved to the user preference file. If off, the snap mode data is stored to the DGN file.
Abort on Reset If on (the default), Resetting during a fence manipulation halts the manipulation. Pressing <Ctrl+C> halts a fence manipulation regardless of the Reset preference.
Apply Level Lock If on (the default), fence contents manipulations no longer ignore Level Lock. If off, fence contents manipulations ignore Level Lock.
Optimized Fence Clipping If on (the default), lets you maintain closed shapes, solids, and surfaces when clipping those elements that cross a fence boundary. If off, closed shapes, solids, and surfaces are dropped to linear elements when clipped.

Also when on, in conjunction with the Locate Interiors preference (in the Input category of the Preferences dialog), lets you create associative holes inside closed shapes, solids, and surfaces.

Resource Cache Sets the amount of memory, in KB, reserved for resources read from the product resource files and application resource files. Default is 1024.