Using Integrated Autodesk Revit Using Integrated Autodesk Revit Using Integrated Autodesk Revit
 

Working with a Local Copy of a Central File

When you open a Revit central file for editing, ProjectWise checks out the Revit document (and its related DAT files) as usual. Then Revit prompts you to create a local copy of the central file to work from. Once the local copy is created, ProjectWise automatically checks in the central file (and its related DAT files), making the central file available again for other users to create local copies from. Once you have a local copy of a central file, you do not have to check it out again — simply continue to make changes to your existing local copy and then synchronize with central whenever you want to save your changes back to the central file in ProjectWise.

Whenever you create a local copy of a central file, update the server copy of a central file, or refresh the local copy of a central file, those actions automatically get recorded in the central file´s audit trail in ProjectWise.

The DAT files related to each central file in ProjectWise should never be deleted.

To edit a local copy of a Revit central file
To open an existing local copy of a central file for editing (Revit 2010 users)
To open an existing local copy of a central file for editing (Revit 2009 users)
To reload your local copy of a central file, to see the changes of other users
To set the interval that integrated Revit checks for updated central files